10 Must-Know Facts About Jewish Holidays

10 Must-Know Facts About Jewish Holidays

Jewish holidays are an important part of Jewish culture and tradition. They are celebrated throughout the year and each holiday has its own customs and traditions. Here are 10 must-know facts about Jewish holidays:

1. The Jewish calendar is lunar-based, which means that holidays fall on different dates each year on the Gregorian calendar.

2. Jewish holidays begin at sundown and end at nightfall the following day.

3. The most important Jewish holidays are Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Passover, and Shavuot.

4. Rosh Hashanah is the Jewish New Year and is celebrated in the fall. It is a time for reflection and introspection.

5. Yom Kippur is the Day of Atonement and is considered the holiest day of the Jewish year. It is a time for fasting, prayer, and repentance.

6. Passover is a spring holiday that celebrates the Jewish people's liberation from slavery in Egypt.

7. Hanukkah is the Festival of Lights and celebrates the miracle of the oil that burned for eight days in the Temple.

8. Purim is a joyous holiday that celebrates the salvation of the Jewish people from a plot to destroy them.

9. Sukkot is a harvest festival that celebrates the fall harvest and the Jewish people's journey through the wilderness.

10. Shavuot is a holiday that celebrates the giving of the Torah to the Jewish people at Mount Sinai.

In addition to these holidays, there are many other Jewish holidays and observances throughout the year. Each holiday has its own customs and traditions, and celebrating them is an important way to connect with Jewish culture and tradition.